Surfing on life banner
The ShovelShack Archives
Between January 2002 and December 2011, almost 46,000 posts were created by members of the Shovel Shack discussion group.
In 2012, the Shovel Shack moved to a new home: shovelshack.org. Shovelshack.net will be kept intact as an archive for those amazing discussions.

Browse a bit and then join us at ShovelShack.org

Forum info and help
 Shovel Shack : Forum info and help
Subject Topic: Pictures on your post ?
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Buddy
Extreme Digger
Extreme Digger


Joined: Aug-19-03
Location: United States
Posts: 310
Posted: Sep-21-03 at 7:48pm | IP Logged  

Question for you technical types.  How do you get your picture on your posts ?

      

Buddy
Back to Top
 
the shovel
Shackmeister
Shackmeister


Joined: Oct-01-01
Location: United States
Posts: 4187
Posted: Sep-21-03 at 7:58pm | IP Logged  

If you will send me a picture you want to include I'll set it up and then send the simple final steps to make it happen.  :)

Jim



      

DIGGIN'THE LIFE!
Back to Top
 
Buddy
Extreme Digger
Extreme Digger


Joined: Aug-19-03
Location: United States
Posts: 310
Posted: Sep-21-03 at 8:15pm | IP Logged  

Jim,

Could you private message me your e-mail so I can attach a photo for you ?

Thanks



      

Buddy
Back to Top
 
Broken Link
Shackaddict
Shackaddict


Joined: Mar-11-02
Location: United States
Posts: 2513
Posted: Sep-21-05 at 12:18am | IP Logged  

Using firefox, I am having a problem seeing all the emoticons, the shovel line that separates posts from signatures, and the "Post New Topic" button. I don't remember doing anything for that to happen. Don't have the same problems in IE.

[taps foot impatiently]

What did you do, Jim?

      

Bill
theHarryTick™
heretic - n 1: a person who holds beliefs in conflict with the dogma of the church.
Back to Top
 
the shovel
Shackmeister
Shackmeister


Joined: Oct-01-01
Location: United States
Posts: 4187
Posted: Sep-21-05 at 2:51pm | IP Logged  

Broken Link wrote:
Using firefox, I am having a problem seeing all the emoticons, the shovel line that separates posts from signatures, and the "Post New Topic" button. I don't remember doing anything for that to happen. Don't have the same problems in IE.

[taps foot impatiently]

What did you do, Jim?


Ummmm ... did you add or update any new Firefox extentions? 

Jim


      

DIGGIN'THE LIFE!
Back to Top
 
Broken Link
Shackaddict
Shackaddict


Joined: Mar-11-02
Location: United States
Posts: 2513
Posted: Sep-22-05 at 10:49am | IP Logged  

Jim,

I've updated jsLib everytime it comes up with an update, usually because they identified a problem with the plugin, but even updating it after identifying the problem hasn't solved the issue. But I haven't added any new plugins lately and can't think of a plugin that would cause those pictures not to display.

Now, today, in IE6, I discover that I can't click on Profile buttons on the post, either. I mean, I see them and can mouse over them, but there is no hyperlink (mouse doesn't go from "arrow" to "finger").

[shrug]

I don't know what's up.



      

Bill
theHarryTick™
heretic - n 1: a person who holds beliefs in conflict with the dogma of the church.
Back to Top
 
the shovel
Shackmeister
Shackmeister


Joined: Oct-01-01
Location: United States
Posts: 4187
Posted: Sep-22-05 at 1:50pm | IP Logged  

Sounds like something got a little funky there.  Might be a cookie thing.  Try deleting forum cookies.  Try logging out and logging back in.  If all else fails you can always create a new identity in Firefox.  That cleans everything up.  Of course, you'd have to reinstall your favorite extensions.

Jim


      

DIGGIN'THE LIFE!
Back to Top
 
Broken Link
Shackaddict
Shackaddict


Joined: Mar-11-02
Location: United States
Posts: 2513
Posted: Sep-22-05 at 2:16pm | IP Logged  

Still doesn't explain why I can't click on Profile buttons in IE on a totally different computer.

      

Bill
theHarryTick™
heretic - n 1: a person who holds beliefs in conflict with the dogma of the church.
Back to Top
 
the shovel
Shackmeister
Shackmeister


Joined: Oct-01-01
Location: United States
Posts: 4187
Posted: Sep-22-05 at 2:22pm | IP Logged  

Broken Link wrote:
Still doesn't explain why I can't click on Profile buttons in IE on a totally different computer.


On a different computer, eh?    Hmmm ... no, doesn't make sense at all.  Are you putting off some bad juju or something? 

Jim


      

DIGGIN'THE LIFE!
Back to Top
 
Broken Link
Shackaddict
Shackaddict


Joined: Mar-11-02
Location: United States
Posts: 2513
Posted: Sep-22-05 at 3:27pm | IP Logged  

Probably!

      

Bill
theHarryTick™
heretic - n 1: a person who holds beliefs in conflict with the dogma of the church.
Back to Top
 
Broken Link
Shackaddict
Shackaddict


Joined: Mar-11-02
Location: United States
Posts: 2513
Posted: Sep-22-05 at 7:22pm | IP Logged  

Jim,

I'm having the same problem with IE at home, no cookies in the browser when I go to the site, still unable to click on profile buttons.

I've logged off, deleted all cookies set by the site and then went into the cookie cache and deleted any leftover there and still have all the issues I described before with images. They show up in the source code, but for some reason, they aren't making it through to the page on the browser.

It's really odd, because I get all the avatars and the background images and everything, just can't see the emoticons, the current topic icons, and latest post arrow icons (from the thread listings).

      

Bill
theHarryTick™
heretic - n 1: a person who holds beliefs in conflict with the dogma of the church.
Back to Top
 
the shovel
Shackmeister
Shackmeister


Joined: Oct-01-01
Location: United States
Posts: 4187
Posted: Sep-23-05 at 2:53pm | IP Logged  

Bill,

I'm just taking a stab here, but have you done a virus scan lately on either of those two computers?

Jim


      

DIGGIN'THE LIFE!
Back to Top
 
Broken Link
Shackaddict
Shackaddict


Joined: Mar-11-02
Location: United States
Posts: 2513
Posted: Sep-23-05 at 3:04pm | IP Logged  

Currently have a scan in progress on the work computer.

Thing is, I'm usually not infected by anything because all my computers are automatically managed for anti-virus. Before it has a chance to spread like wildfire through the WWW, it's identified, defined, and thwarted by the time any of them try to come through the system. Consequently, I've been spared some of the issues that other computers, even here at work, have experienced.

Still, it is a possibility. I'll let you know the status when I get home.

      

Bill
theHarryTick™
heretic - n 1: a person who holds beliefs in conflict with the dogma of the church.
Back to Top
 
the shovel
Shackmeister
Shackmeister


Joined: Oct-01-01
Location: United States
Posts: 4187
Posted: Sep-23-05 at 3:47pm | IP Logged  

Okeedokee there, Billyboy ....

Regarding the profile button, all I can say is, "DUH!!!"   

Somehow, in one of my more recent experiments I apparently deleted some necessary code while removing the experimental coding that was in close proximity to the profile button.  I'll do some more checking to see if I did anything to mess up the rest.

Sorry for all the trouble I've put you through!! 

Jim


      

DIGGIN'THE LIFE!
Back to Top
 
the shovel
Shackmeister
Shackmeister


Joined: Oct-01-01
Location: United States
Posts: 4187
Posted: Sep-23-05 at 4:10pm | IP Logged  

Broken Link wrote:
Using firefox, I am having a problem seeing all the emoticons, the shovel line that separates posts from signatures, and the "Post New Topic" button. I don't remember doing anything for that to happen. Don't have the same problems in IE.

[taps foot impatiently]

What did you do, Jim?


Now, I don't know why I didn't check the profile button until today except for the fact that I may have stopped short after not experiencing any problems with the emoticons, the shovel line, or the "Post New Topic" button.  However ... as the coding I corrected had left a closed anchor tag hanging by itself, hopefully that may have been the cause.  Let me know!

Jim


      

DIGGIN'THE LIFE!
Back to Top
 
Broken Link
Shackaddict
Shackaddict


Joined: Mar-11-02
Location: United States
Posts: 2513
Posted: Sep-23-05 at 8:57pm | IP Logged  

Hadn't checked your fix for the profile button in IE, but it works in Firefox on my wife's computer. Odd thing that, all I've ever done is update those things that were necessary to keep the system working. I still have no idea what caused it to stop working.

      

Bill
theHarryTick™
heretic - n 1: a person who holds beliefs in conflict with the dogma of the church.
Back to Top
 
Broken Link
Shackaddict
Shackaddict


Joined: Mar-11-02
Location: United States
Posts: 2513
Posted: Sep-24-05 at 1:42am | IP Logged  

Okay, I even went back and reloaded an older version of Firefox and it still has the issue. I figured out the link to the images and I can see them in the browser if the full link to them is inputted to the browser...but something seems to be wrong with the code on the active server pages that interferes with those images being properly displayed.

Tried to validate the page and it said:
"Sorry, I am unable to validate this document because on line 8 it contained one or more bytes that I cannot interpret as utf-8 (in other words, the bytes found are not valid values in the specified Character Encoding). Please check both the content of the file and the character encoding indication." --Link

:shrug:

      

Bill
theHarryTick™
heretic - n 1: a person who holds beliefs in conflict with the dogma of the church.
Back to Top
 
the shovel
Shackmeister
Shackmeister


Joined: Oct-01-01
Location: United States
Posts: 4187
Posted: Sep-24-05 at 7:51am | IP Logged  

Bill,

I checked that page and it hasn't been changed in over a year.  Line 8 begins with an apostrophe, which is a "comment out" for ASP notations.  It must be something else.  I'll check into it a bit more when I'm done working outside today.

Jim


      

DIGGIN'THE LIFE!
Back to Top
 
Broken Link
Shackaddict
Shackaddict


Joined: Mar-11-02
Location: United States
Posts: 2513
Posted: Sep-24-05 at 8:35am | IP Logged  

Jim,

Okay. Hey, don't feel pressured by anything I post. I'm just trying to troubleshoot my Firefox installation. I do have one more question because the only other thing that had recently been updated was the jsLib extension. So, I was wondering what the function of the javascript that is called up early in the Shack Home and Active Topics pages is for.

      

Bill
theHarryTick™
heretic - n 1: a person who holds beliefs in conflict with the dogma of the church.
Back to Top
 
Broken Link
Shackaddict
Shackaddict


Joined: Mar-11-02
Location: United States
Posts: 2513
Posted: Sep-24-05 at 2:04pm | IP Logged  

Hmm, hadn't noticed that before. All the avatar pictures that are housed on the Shack are not coming through. Essentially, if the image doesn't come through with a complete web location (I think they call those relative addresses, as in relative to the page on the server) then it is not showing those images.

images that show
Code:
src="forum_images/..."
don't show up.

      

Bill
theHarryTick™
heretic - n 1: a person who holds beliefs in conflict with the dogma of the church.
Back to Top
 
the shovel
Shackmeister
Shackmeister


Joined: Oct-01-01
Location: United States
Posts: 4187
Posted: Sep-24-05 at 4:14pm | IP Logged  

hmmm!  Odd.  I have a couple of things to look into a bit later to see if there is anything to a hunch.

Jim


      

DIGGIN'THE LIFE!
Back to Top
 
the shovel
Shackmeister
Shackmeister


Joined: Oct-01-01
Location: United States
Posts: 4187
Posted: Sep-25-05 at 7:19am | IP Logged  

Well, two hunches shot down.  I'll keep looking. 

Jim


      

DIGGIN'THE LIFE!
Back to Top
 

 



the shovel home page