Surfing on life banner
The ShovelShack Archives
Between January 2002 and December 2011, almost 46,000 posts were created by members of the Shovel Shack discussion group.
In 2012, the Shovel Shack moved to a new home: shovelshack.org. Shovelshack.net will be kept intact as an archive for those amazing discussions.

Browse a bit and then join us at ShovelShack.org

Forum info and help
 Shovel Shack : Forum info and help
Subject Topic: Changing Browsers
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Bethany
Extreme Digger
Extreme Digger


Joined: Feb-26-05
Location: United States
Posts: 158
Posted: Apr-14-06 at 1:47pm | IP Logged  

I changed to Firefox, and now I cannot log in here unless I log in through Explorer afterall.

 

Any ideas why that is?

 

Love,

B



      

You have everything you need
If you just believe...

taken from the song
Believe
fromThe Polar Express : )
Back to Top
 
the shovel
Shackmeister
Shackmeister


Joined: Oct-01-01
Location: United States
Posts: 4187
Posted: Apr-14-06 at 1:59pm | IP Logged  

Hi Bethany!

Well, I'm looking at your active status and it shows that you are logged in under Firefox. Are you saying that you have to first login using IE? If so, what happened when you entered your login info into Firefox before doing that?

Jim


      

DIGGIN'THE LIFE!
Back to Top
 
Bethany
Extreme Digger
Extreme Digger


Joined: Feb-26-05
Location: United States
Posts: 158
Posted: Apr-14-06 at 2:14pm | IP Logged  

It told me that I have had an un-successful log in and gave me the prompts to try and try again...

But I chose to open up my Internet Explorer instead and I did log in with it instead.

Hmm, so it says I am viewing the Shack via firefox?

How very strange!

Currently I have no firefox pages open but had decided to load that on the computer cos of some new threat of security on Explorer about phishing or hacking or some such thing.

Love,

Bethany



      

You have everything you need
If you just believe...

taken from the song
Believe
fromThe Polar Express : )
Back to Top
 
the shovel
Shackmeister
Shackmeister


Joined: Oct-01-01
Location: United States
Posts: 4187
Posted: Apr-14-06 at 4:20pm | IP Logged  

I definitely recommend Firefox, so it'd be great to get it working. I know there is an issue with the forum program regarding logging in for some people according to the guy who made it (and that includes login problems using Internet Explorer, too).

Perhaps yours is a cookie problem. Try logging on using IE again, but this time go to the bottom of the home Shack page and click on the link that says "Delete cookies set by this forum". After this you'll see that you are logged out of the Shack. Now shut down IE. Open Firefox and do the same thing with the cookie deletion link. Now try to login and see if it works. If it doesn't we'll try something else.  :)

Jim


      

DIGGIN'THE LIFE!
Back to Top
 
the shovel
Shackmeister
Shackmeister


Joined: Oct-01-01
Location: United States
Posts: 4187
Posted: Apr-14-06 at 4:29pm | IP Logged  

BTW, when you set up your Firefox browser did you add any the add-ons to FF called "extensions"? I ask because there are some that will not allow sites to set cookies or run scripts unless specifically allowed for the site (these are good protection add-on, by the way).

Jim


      

DIGGIN'THE LIFE!
Back to Top
 
Bethany
Extreme Digger
Extreme Digger


Joined: Feb-26-05
Location: United States
Posts: 158
Posted: Apr-15-06 at 3:45pm | IP Logged  

I'm in just as you said Jim...
It must have been those cookies!

Thanks for the help.

Love,
Bethany


      

You have everything you need
If you just believe...

taken from the song
Believe
fromThe Polar Express : )
Back to Top
 
realrestisbest
Shackaholic
Shackaholic


Joined: Jul-28-05
Location: United States
Posts: 764
Posted: Dec-28-08 at 2:33pm | IP Logged  

I've been having a problem with logging in as well.  And the message I got was something about cookies.  My hubby changed me over to Firefox instead of Explorer.  So I'll have to try your advice here.  I had to log on to my husbands profile to be able to post!!!!
Back to Top
 

 



the shovel home page